LSU Tigers gymnastics

LSU Tigers gymnastics
Founded: 1975

University Louisiana State University
Conference SEC
Division I Division
Location Baton Rouge, LA
Head Coach D-D Breaux (37th year)
Home Arena Pete Maravich Assembly Center
(Capacity: 13,472)
Known As Tigers
Colors Purple and Gold


Super Six Appearances
2008, 2009, 2013, 2014
NCAA Tournament Appearances
1982, 1983, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015
Conference Champions

The LSU Tigers gymnastics team represents Louisiana State University in NCAA Division I women's gymnastics. The team competes in the Southeastern Conference and is currently coached by D-D Breaux, who has coached the Tigers since 1978. The Pete Maravich Assembly Center serves as the home arena for the team.


    Super Six appearances

    LSU Tigers Super Six Appearances
    Year Finish
    2008 5th
    2009 6th
    2013 5th
    2014 3rd

    Individual champions

    LSU Tigers Individual NCAA Championship Titles
    Gymnast Balance Beam Vault Uneven Bars Floor Exercise All-Around
    Jeanie Beadle 1977
    Nicki Arnstad 2002
    April Burkholder 2006
    Susan Jackson 2010 2008 2010
    Ashleigh Clare-Kearney 2009 2009 (tie)
    Rheagan Courville 2013 (tie)
    Rheagan Courville 2014 (tie)

    Roster (2016 season)

    2015-16 Roster
    Name Height Year Hometown Club
    Julianna Cannamela 5-1 FR Waxhaw, NC Southeastern
    Sydney Ewing 5-0 JR Lafayette, LA Acadiana
    Sarah Finnegan 5-1 FR Lee's Summit, MO GAGE
    Michelle Gauthier 5-4 SR Mandeville, LA Northshore
    Ashleigh Gnat 5-0 JR Lake Mary, FL ACE
    Myia Hambrick 5-1 SO Temple, GA West Georgia
    McKenna Kelley 5-1 FR Houston, TX Stars
    Erin Macadaeg 4-9 SO Redwood City, CA San Mateo
    Kylie Moran 5-2 SO St. Petersburg, FL Tampa Bay Turners
    Lexie Priessman 5-0 FR Cincinnati, OH Perfection Gymnastics School
    Jessica Savona 4-11 SR Mississauga, Ontario Oakville
    Kaitlyn Szafranski 5-2 FR Orefield, PA Parkettes
    Randii Wyrick 5-5 SR Las Vegas, NV Brown's Gymnastics
    Shae Zamardi 5-3 JR Vancouver Island, BC Flicka
    • Head Coach: D-D Breaux
    • Assistant Head Coach: Jay Clark
    • Assistant Coach: Bob Moore
    • Volunteer Coach: Ashleigh Clare-Kearney

    Gymnasts who have committed to attend LSU in the future:

    Arena & facilities

    Pete Maravich Assembly Center

    Pete Maravich Assembly Center

    The Pete Maravich Assembly Center is a 13,215-seat multi-purpose arena in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. The arena opened in 1972 and is home of the LSU Tigers gymnastics team. It was originally known as the LSU Assembly Center, but was renamed in honor of Pete Maravich, a Tiger basketball legend, shortly after his death in 1988. The Maravich Center is known to locals as "The PMAC" or "The Palace that Pete Built," or by its more nationally known nickname, "The Deaf Dome," coined by Dick Vitale.

    The slightly oval building is located directly to the north of Tiger Stadium, and its bright-white roof can be seen in many telecasts of that stadium. The arena concourse is divided into four quadrants: Pete Maravich Pass, The Walk of Champions, Heroes Hall and Midway of Memories. The quadrants highlight former LSU Tiger athletes, individual and team awards and memorabilia pertaining to the history of the LSU Tigers gymnastics team.

    LSU Strength and Conditioning facility

    The LSU Tigers gymnastics strength training and conditioning facility is located in the LSU Strength and Conditioning facility. Built in 1997, it is located adjacent to Tiger Stadium. Measuring 10,000-square feet with a flat surface, it has 28 multi-purpose power stations, 36 assorted selectorized machines and 10 dumbbell stations along with a plyometric specific area, medicine balls, hurdles, plyometric boxes and assorted speed and agility equipment. It also features 2 treadmills, 4 stationary bikes, 2 elliptical cross trainers, a stepper and stepmill.

    Head coaches

    Name Seasons All W/L/T Win %
    Virginia Vaggies 1975–1977
    D-D Breaux 1978–present 675-410-8 (.621)

    See also